Private clinics that publish their fees charge S$160 to S$210 for one tech neck physiotherapy session in Singapore. That is the number everyone quotes. It is also the wrong number to budget with.
This guide lists what each clinic actually publishes (checked 10 October 2026), the costs the headline fee leaves out, and what a full plan costs. It also covers what the fee should buy, why chin tucks help some people and aggravate others, and what progress should look like at 2, 6 and 12 weeks.
Disclosure
Dr Neck Pain is a structural chiropractic clinic, not a physiotherapy clinic, so we have a stake in this question. Every fee in the physiotherapy tables comes from the provider’s own page. Our own prices appear once, in the last section, and are labelled as ours.
The short version
- No clinic lists a separate tech neck fee. It is billed as an ordinary physiotherapy session: S$160 to S$210 at the private clinics checked, S$180 to S$320 for a home visit.
- The headline fee leaves things out. GST can add S$18.90 to a S$210 session, and shockwave or dry needling is charged extra at some clinics and included at others.
- Visits, not sessions, set the bill. Six visits at S$210 plus GST is S$1,373.40. No trial gives a fixed number of visits for tech neck.
- Public and community care can cost less, but the referral route decides if you get the subsidy. MediSave does not cover ordinary neck pain physiotherapy.
- Posture can improve while pain does not. Pay for a plan that tracks symptoms, function, strength and alignment as four separate things.
What Tech Neck Physiotherapy Costs in Singapore (October 2026)
“Tech neck” is a label for neck and upper back strain from long hours looking down at a phone or screen. The posture people usually mean is forward head posture, where the head drifts ahead of the shoulders. Clinically it sits under neck and shoulder pain and posture-related loading. It is not a separate diagnosis, so no clinic prices it separately. The research behind the label is an association: a 2025 meta-analysis of seven studies (10,715 people) found smartphone overuse went with more than double the odds of neck pain (adjusted odds ratio 2.34), and those studies were retrospective, so they cannot prove cause. A 2024 Singapore online survey of 302 adults found people with neck and shoulder pain reported more daily smartphone time (5.37 against 4.46 hours) and less exercise than people without it.
What the research shows
Phone time goes with neck pain. Neither study shows it causes it.
Smartphone overuse and neck pain
Meta-analysis, 2025: 7 retrospective studies, 10,715 people. Odds ratio with 95% confidence interval.
2.34times the odds of neck pain
Odds, not probability. 2.34 does not mean 234% more people get neck pain, and retrospective studies cannot show cause.
Singapore adults, online survey, 2024
302 people: 212 with neck and shoulder pain, 90 without. Averages, hours.
Smartphone use, hours a day
Exercise, hours a week
Both bars use one scale, 0 to 6 hours. One cross-sectional, self-reported survey: it cannot show which came first.
See the numbers as a table
| Measure | With pain | Without |
|---|---|---|
| Smartphone use (hours a day) | 5.37 | 4.46 |
| Exercise (hours a week) | 2.69 | 4.11 |
| Odds ratio, smartphone overuse and neck pain | 2.34 (95% CI 1.44 to 3.82) | |
Sources: Chen et al., Postgrad Med J 2025 (PMID 39764644); Lo et al., Healthcare 2024 (PMID 39337202).
What you pay is the clinic’s standard physiotherapy session. Here is what each clinic publishes on its own fee page.
| Provider | Published fee | Session length | GST and extras |
|---|---|---|---|
| Heartland Physio | S$160 | 45 minutes | GST not stated on the fee page. Home visit S$200 (60 minutes). Cigna direct billing for eligible members. |
| Regis Medical | S$160 (one area) or S$190 (two areas) | 45 or 60 minutes | GST not stated on the page. Doctor consult fee waived when the clinic doctor directs you to in-house physiotherapy. |
| heal360 Physioclinic | S$180 first visit; S$150 to S$180 follow-up | 45 minutes first; 30 to 45 minutes after | GST not stated on the fee page. Senior or Principal therapist adds S$30 to S$60. Shockwave S$250. |
| Core Concepts Physiotherapy | S$207.10 first and follow-up | Not stated | Includes 9% GST. Dry needling and shockwave are included in the treatment cost. |
| Benchmark Physio | S$210 | 45 minutes | Before 9% GST. Covers assessment and treatment, including dry needling. Shockwave S$80 as an add-on. Home visit S$320. |
| Physio & Sole | From S$210 | 45 minutes | Before GST. Dry needling S$100 and shockwave S$250 are listed separately. |
| Homage (home visit) | S$180; 4-session package S$670 | 60 minutes | GST not stated on the page. Package works out to S$167.50 a visit. |
| For comparison: chiropractic, not physiotherapy. Our own clinic. | |||
| Dr Neck PainStructural chiropractic | S$168a session. S$98 to S$150 in 12 or 24-session packages. | About 40 minutes | Consultation and X-ray assessment S$168, with assessment X-rays covered free under the current promotion. GST not stated on the pricing page. |
Read down the last column before you read the second. Of the seven physiotherapy providers, three state their GST position and four do not, and the extras are charged on different terms at every one. S$207.10 and S$210 look S$2.90 apart. Add GST to the second and they are S$21.80 apart, before any add-on is counted.
How these figures were gathered
Every fee above was read from the provider’s own published fee or service page on 10 October 2026. Clinics change prices without notice, so confirm the current fee when you book. This is a sample of clinics that publish prices, not a ranking of Singapore’s physiotherapists.
The Costs the Headline Fee Leaves Out
A per-session price answers one question: what does the first hour cost? A budget needs the others.
- GSTS$210 before 9% GST is S$228.90 at the till. Across six visits that gap is S$113.40. Ask whether the fee you were quoted includes it.
- Add-on treatmentsShockwave is S$250 at two clinics above and S$80 at another. At Core Concepts it is inside the S$207.10. A comparison of headline fees alone tells you nothing about this.
- Therapist levelheal360 publishes a S$30 to S$60 surcharge when you request a Senior or Principal therapist. Ask who you will see at every visit.
- Re-assessment and late feesheal360 states that a gap of more than 3 months may need a re-assessment, and that repeated late cancellations or no-shows may be charged at the full session fee.
- Pay first, claim laterTwo clinics state that you usually pay at the visit and claim from your insurer with the receipt, and that you may need a referral letter from a doctor.
- Your timeTwelve weekly 45-minute visits is nine hours in the treatment room before travel, waiting and the working time around each appointment.
What a Full Plan Really Costs
The table multiplies the published fees by the number of visits. It is arithmetic, not a prediction of how many visits you will need. That depends on your assessment and your response.
| Visits | At S$160 | At S$180 | At S$210 | At S$228.90 (S$210 + GST) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | S$160 | S$180 | S$210 | S$228.90 |
| 3 | S$480 | S$540 | S$630 | S$686.70 |
| 6 | S$960 | S$1,080 | S$1,260 | S$1,373.40 |
| 12 | S$1,920 | S$2,160 | S$2,520 | S$2,746.80 |
A package changes the sum a little. Homage lists four home visits for S$670 against S$720 at S$180 each, a saving of S$50.
The bigger question is how many visits the evidence supports. There is no fixed number for tech neck, and the research points two ways depending on how long the pain has lasted.
A few instructed sessions of home exercise matched hands-on treatment at nearly every time point in a 272-person trial.
In the Bronfort 2012 trial (neck pain of 2 to 12 weeks), spinal manipulation beat medication, and “a few instructional sessions” of home exercise with advice produced similar outcomes at most time points. HealthHub, the national health portal, says most neck pain recovers in a few weeks with self-management, though it may recur.
Supervised strengthening beat low-dose home exercise at 12 weeks, and the gap narrowed by 52.
In a 270-person trial of chronic neck pain, high-dose supervised exercise outperformed low-dose home exercise by 1.1 to 1.3 pain points at 12 weeks. By 52 weeks the differences were 0.2 to 0.3 points and not statistically significant, although across all time points the supervised groups kept a modest overall advantage.
The budget lesson is to pay for instruction and progression rather than for a fixed visit count. Early visits teach the plan and set the load. Later visits matter when the load needs to go up or the symptoms say the plan is wrong. The same research cuts the other way for a longer-standing problem, where supervised work earned its place in the first three months.
Hospital, Community and Subsidised Care
Public and community routes can cost less. They are not a walk-in discount. What decides the price is how you enter the system.
- Singapore General Hospital. SGH publishes one outpatient charge range for its rehabilitation services, effective 1 June 2026: S$17 to S$316 for private patients, including GST. That range covers physiotherapy, occupational therapy, speech therapy, acupuncture and other services in one row, and the page says fees vary with session length. It is not a quote for a tech neck appointment.
- Subsidised specialist outpatient care. MOH states that Singapore Citizens are eligible for subsidies of up to 70% and Permanent Residents 25% at public Specialist Outpatient Clinics. Citizen subsidy levels run from 30% to 70% depending on household income per person, and you must come through an eligible referral source.
- NTUC Health community rehabilitation. Active rehabilitation is listed at S$0 to S$179.85 a session. The S$0 rate is for selected centres and the highest subsidy tier for Singapore Citizens only, and an extra S$20 may apply for an initial assessment. Subsidy is means-tested, and the page states that self-referrals are not eligible for subsidy.
Two practical points follow. Ask the polyclinic or hospital whether your case can be referred into a subsidised physiotherapy pathway rather than assuming it can. And ask the waiting time, because a low fee that arrives after a long wait is still a cost if the pain is affecting your work.
MediSave and Insurance: What Pays and What Does Not
Do not budget on MediSave covering a course of tech neck physiotherapy.
- MediSave500 and MediSave700 apply to outpatient treatment of 23 listed Chronic Disease Management Programme conditions. Neck pain is not on the list.
- Flexi-MediSave allows up to S$400 a year for outpatient medical treatment for people aged 60 and above, and can be used at Specialist Outpatient Clinics, polyclinics and participating CHAS GP clinics. Confirm with the provider what it will accept before relying on it.
- Private or employer insurance is policy-specific. Ask your insurer whether it needs a doctor’s referral or pre-authorisation, whether the clinic is eligible, the per-visit and annual caps, and whether both the assessment and follow-ups are covered.
- Direct billing exists at some clinics (Heartland lists Cigna, and Benchmark lists insurance partners) but is not the norm. Two clinics state that fees are usually paid first and claimed with the clinic receipt.
Where Dr Neck Pain sits
Dr Neck Pain provides non-surgical structural correction (chiropractic). Chiropractic is not MOH-registered in Singapore, and the care is paid privately or through corporate benefits rather than MediSave. Physiotherapists are different: they register with the Allied Health Professions Council (AHPC), and you can ask any physiotherapy clinic to confirm that registration. Whether your own insurer reimburses chiropractic is a policy question to put to the insurer before your first visit. See our guide to the best neck pain clinics in Singapore for how the clinic types and MediSave rules compare.

